same question, same answer

March 4, 2010

lately, i feel like people have been asking me this question a lot:

“hey man, so what are you up to lately?”

and lately, i feel like this has been my answer:

“oh you know, not much, just working, hanging out, nothing crazy”

(or some variant of that phrase)

anybody with me on this one?

deep down in my soul, i know know KNOW that there is something terribly wrong with this reply. but i don’t know what it is. that’s what everybody says to that question. well, most people. and i’m not gonna lie here, i feel like something in my life is probably missing. i feel like something in everybody’s life is probably missing, and i feel like we probably don’t know what it is as much as we FEEL what it is. i FEEL what it is when i hear certain songs. i feel what it is when the weather is just a certain way. i feel what it is when i am just a certain level of tired, or sad, or happy. i FEEL what it is when i see the ocean, or the mountains. but i just feel it. and it sure doesn’t change the way i answer that question.

this is our dilemma in life isn’t it?

everyone has the SPARK. i know this beyond any shadow of doubt. and when i say everyone, i mean everyone. tall, short, black, white, smart, stupid, mentally retarded, autistic, etc…

how do we turn it into a flame?

how do we change the answer to the question?

2 Responses to “same question, same answer”

  1. dochais Says:

    Yes. Totally know what you’re talking about. For six years I answered with the ‘oh you know, just working, eating, sleeping, etc’ when people asked what I’d been up to.

    Now it’s ‘oh you know, just being a bum. See, I have no job – I’m just at home.’

    But you know what? As much as it’s quite worrying not having a job, it was *more* worrying how my flame had been completely extinguished over the last two out of six years of my old job.

    I let that happen.

    I was driving home today from Manchester listening to Walk On by U2 and I was thinking along the same line as what you’re writing about – that ‘feeling’ when you hear that certain song or see the mountains or whatever. I actually questioned myself ‘what can I do that makes me have that ‘feeling’ like when I listen to this song?’ Man, that sounds so bloody muso. But, we *have* to find it.

    Also, another song which has stayed with me ever since I saw U2 last Summer… ‘Stuck in a Moment’. Go listen to that song, right now.

    This is a really long comment.. probably because your blog has made me really think.

  2. thesashmachine Says:

    this is good Chris.. it’s something that i’ve been contemplating as well.. just the whole “what are we doing here?” question.. i mean, ultimately it’s the whole “love God, love people” answer but… there is so much in that..

    i like amy’s response as well.. i’m going to go listen to that song right now


Leave a comment